Can Vanessa Hudgens possibly be dark and twisty enough to play Leah Clearwater? I have a hard time seeing it, but casting for Twilight has been pretty good so far, so we’ll see.

A script re-write has to be good news though, right? I’m hoping he means an attention to detail that I can really appreciate.

Thanks to NewMoonMovie.org:

Ashley Greene Confirms Script Rewrite, Hudgens Audition
January 12, 2009 · View Comments

Ashley Greene, who plays Alice Cullen in Twilight, has confirmed to MTV News that Vanessa Hudgens is auditioning for the role of Leah Clearwater in New Moon, confirming one of the possible actresses that we mentioned recently for the part. Though Leah doesn’t play a huge part in New Moon, her role becomes more important later in the series, and Eclipse is set to be filmed directly after New Moon. Greene says that “I think she’d be great” of Hudgens. Also confirmed is changes to Rosenberg’s script for New Moon–

“I hear they’re doing another rewrite,” the actress revealed of the in-flux script. “I’m with you guys — I’m so excited to read it.”

On the one hand, I’m glad they’re giving plenty of attention to the script, but on the other–are they really going to be able to finish this film in 10 months if they don’t even have a completed script yet?

