Since I posted I Saw A Unicorn there has been some talk on Letters to Twilight about Unicorns, essentially men who read Twilight in public. The discussion got me thinking about my actual first Unicorn sighting. As I mentioned in what I believe was my first post about Twilight, Hello from Forks, WA, the first person I remember reading Twilight was Bryan. We happened to be traveling together on a business trip. I witnessed him reading Twilight at the airport, a couple days later I finally asked him what he was reading so obsessively. By this time he was on New Moon. He was pulling it out every chance he got, including while we were on our bus tour to the Chinese Theater. I had to break my rule of not interrupting public reading to ask because his behavior was beyond ridiculous. He told me about it briefly and went back to reading.

Now that I look back on this with a new perspective, I realize that Bryan was a Unicorn. I don’t know how he ever picked it up, but I do know that he was obsessed. He’d brought both Twilight and New Moon on a 4-day business trip and was worried about having enough reading material to make it back to Phoenix from LA. This was an awards trip, where the focus is having fun with fellow award winners and he was spending it reading whenever possible. I’m glad that I did not start reading until after I got back from my trip. If I had been in LA when Edward left Bella, and I’d had to leave my room to go to a dinner or to take a tour or to attend a meeting, it would have been a very different trip. Or maybe I would have been reading New Moon next to Bryan on a bus instead of Mr. 24a on a plane. Ok, I’ll be honest. I still would have been reading it with 24a.

So, have you spotted any Unicorns? Were they all in airports? I’ve spotted two at work, but to be honest, they were people in my own coven. That is, I turned them myself.

