Stephen King made his opinion of Stephenie Meyer’s writing quite clear.  You can follow that link for the whole story. I just want to comment on this:

Attempting to explain the enormous success of Meyer’s novels, King speculated that Twilighters simply aren’t yet ready for a depiction of real, adult romance: “It’s exciting and it’s thrilling and it’s not particularly threatening, because they’re not overtly sexual. A lot of the physical side of it is conveyed in things like the vampire will touch her forearm or run a hand over skin, and she just flushes all hot and cold. And for girls, that’s a shorthand for all the feelings that they’re not ready to deal with yet.”

I wonder if Mr. King knows about Cougars and Twilight Moms. There are a lot of us out there. I’m 38, and I assure you I’ve been ready to deal with those feelings for quite some time. Romance and sexual tension are sexy. I don’t think it matters what age you are. Is it light reading? Sure. It’s wonderfully light and easy to read. That’s what I love about Ms. Meyer’s style. Is it poorly written? That’s debatable. You’d have to define poorly written. I’ll take a writer that is not so technically proficient but can tell a story over a textbook writer anyday. For the record, I’m not calling Mr. King a textbook writer. I’ve never read anything he’s written, except reviews like this, so I couldn’t really say. I have read the Twilight Saga four times though.

