I came across a posting on lion_lamb @LiveJournal. I wasn’t able to post a comment there, so I’ll just post it here. 

chelsea_hale ([info]chelsea_hale) wrote in [info]lion_lamb,
I do wonder how they’re going to find Indian guys in Phoenix – Phoenix is divided between Mexican and American, basically. I live only half an hour away from Phoenix. But, since I do fit age requirements, I won’t show up. 😀

Here is my reply:

I also live in the Phoenix area, and I can tell you Phoenix has a very large Native American population. They are the ones who own the reservation land the state rents for freeways. And you know all those casinso? They run those, too. California’s population is larger, but I assume they’ve exhausted that possibility already so are moving on to other populations. Phoenix, being in the next most populated county for Native Americans, is perfect for casting, especially if they are looking for unknowns. According to Indianz.com :

“As of July 2004, California had the largest American Indian and Alaska Native population. According to the Census, 687,400 Native Americans live in the Golden State. There are over 100 federally recognized tribes in California.

Oklahoma came in a distant second, with 398,200 Native Americans. The state is home to almost 40 federally recognized tribes.

Arizona (234,200), Texas (248,300) and New Mexico (207,400) rounded out the top five. New York (183,400), Washington (165,400), North Carolina (142,000), Florida (140,600) and Michigan (124,100) completed the top 10.

The Census Bureau also broke down the results by counties with populations of at least 1 million. Not surprisingly, Los Angeles County had the largest Native American population, with 153,500 living there.

Maricopa County, Arizona, which includes the city of Phoenix and several tribes, ranked second with a Native population of 91,500. The county also registered the largest numerical increase between 2003 and 2004, according to the Census. “

Good luck to the casting crew in Phoenix today and tomorrow.  And to all you hopefuls out there, Break A Leg! I can’t wait to see you on the big screen.

