Dear Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences,

Thank you for a lovely evening. When I heard that you were going to shake things up for ratings I understood your reasons, but I was nervous. I wondered if Oscar might loose some of his magic for me if what I feared was true and the Disney kids were going to be catered to, but I really enjoyed the changes you made. I didn’t notice a difference with the red carpet, but I just wanted to tell you I thought it was stunning and well-orchestrated. I’m not sure if it’s scheduled, but it seems like that would be a good thing to do, so I’m going to credit you with that. Hugh Jackman was a lot of fun. I hope this won’t be the last time he hosts the Oscars. I know you’re trying to mix things up, so I don’t expect him to become a fixture or anything, but he was a good host, and I’d like to see him return at least once more. I liked the format. Leading us through pre-production, production, and post-production was a logical progression, and I liked that the same presenter or presenters presented a group of related categories. That really moved things along.

Queen Latifah singing I’ll Be Seeing You for the In Memoriam was beautiful. I won’t lie; I got a little choked up. The best part for me though, was how the nominees for the acting categories were presented. Having five previous winners in the category give such beautiful and personal feedback was powerful. For this I got very choked up, especially for the Best Supporting Actress and Best Actress categories. The four actors and actresses who do not receive an award deserve more recognition than simply having their names and films read out; they deserve the personal attention this format allowed. Furthermore it fit in so well with the traditional Academy Awards show that I can hardly believe someone did not come up with this sooner. Please, keep this format until you have to shake things up for ratings once again, and even then, please try to change something else first.

Once again, thank you!

Christa

PS Thank you for inviting Robert Pattinson to be a presenter so that he would come back to the US and have an excuse to shave, sort of.

 

Thanks to this site for the photo.

