Dear Kristen Stewart,

I’ve spent a lot of time over at Letters to Twilight, so it’s sometimes hard for me not to think of my reviews, and other communications with people I will never meet, in anything other than letter format. So, that being said…Adventureland. Yeah. I think I kinda loved it.

While I would really love to one day see you play someone healthy and (gasp!) happy, you once again did a good job of playing depressive and damaged. I wonder why you were chosen for this role. Your character (Em Lewin) was an NYU student. I don’t know if she was a grad student like the male lead (James Brennan, played by Jesse Eisenberg). I might have missed it, if it was covered. The only reason I bring it up is because I know I was distracted by the ages of your characters. I think it was knowing how young you were while filming (what, 16?) or if it was because the two of you had crappy summer jobs, but I couldn’t help but think of both of you as high school kids. I know others were concerned by this as well because the couple next to me had a conversation about why it was that you two were always drinking, and in bars no less. One of them hadn’t caught on to the fact that you were both college students and probably over 21. So, I think we were all trying to keep in mind that the characters were older than they appeared.

Aside from that I thought everything was great. I was surprised to not like the character (Mike Connell) played by Ryan Reynolds. Good job on his part, because I really like him. I loved the 80’s feel of it, though at times it did seem much more ’83 than ’87. Ok, so I guess I had one more somewhat negative thing to say. Sorry. None of that is your fault, however, so please don’t take offense. I read a review before going to the movie (they gave it an A-) and they compared it to American Graffiti and Dazed and Confused. That’s excellent company to keep. Only time will tell if Adventureland becomes the classic that these two films have become, but I definitely agree that it captured the feel of the moment in much the same ways these other two films capture the feel of the eras they were portraying.

I hope Adventureland does well for you at the box office. I know our theater was pretty full 40 minutes before the movie started. It’s been a while since I’ve seen that kind of showing for a non-fanboy/girl movie. The theater was pretty packed by showtime, and everyone seemed to really enjoy it. So, well done, and I hope filming New Moon is going well. Have fun!

♥Christa

