I’m about to be 40. Yep. Me.

It’s not so bad. No one really believes it, so I guess I can’t complain too much. Thirty was actually much more difficult to face. I fell into the same trap many do. You have this list of things you want to accomplish before you’re 30, consciously or unconsciously. Well I had the husband. I had the house shortly thereafter. I am now free of both. Instead of kiddies, I have kitties (a cosmic joke turned me into a cat lady…or cat woman as I prefer to be called). No one considers calling the humane society if I leave them alone, so, another WIN for me.

What I’ve learned so far is that we play the cards we are dealt. Some people have crappier hands than others. It doesn’t matter who the dealer was. It only matters what you do with the hand. You always have choices. You can play it out and lose. You can play and bluff your way to a win. You can fold and save your money to play another hand. You can fold and go play at another table. It’s your hand. Play it however you see fit, but play it. Don’t blame others for your bad cards. Don’t scream and cry and demand a re-deal. Don’t try to get the other players to turn against the dealer. Don’t go to a higher power and try to get the players and dealers shuffled to your advantage. Just play, learn, and play better next time.

Of course that’s not all I’ve learned, but that’s all I have time for now. Time for bed. Even if Spider-Man is on.

Oh…and it’s still Rumspringa!

