Just in case you don’t get to see this on Letters to Twilight right away, here is a description of my Phoenix New Moon Casting Call (there’s still time tomorrow if you want to audition!).

I was fortunate enough to sneak a peek at the Phoenix casting call for New Moon. My friends Erika and Lisa (fellow Twilighters) were happy to keep me company on the journey. Erika even used her Mistress voice on me to make me go inside the building by myself. You can thank her for the pictures I took inside, really. I wasn’t sure I would be allowed, being as gringa as they come. Everyone was very nice, and I really didn’t even get any looks for being there, even though I clearly didn’t fit the description of the casting call. I brought my real camera, so I guess that explained why I was there.

Registration took place in the lobby of the Phoenix Indian Center. It seemed pretty well organized. They seemed to be directing people very well for minimum confusion. It’s a smallish lobby and when I got there, there were about 100 people crammed into it. The people running the show were calling people in groups by age. I have no idea how many people were already back there auditioning. The atmosphere in the lobby was tense. I don’t know why, but I expected a sort of fangirl SQUEE. Nope, there was very quiet murmur considering the number of people. I didn’t see anyone practicing their lines or anything, unless they were doing it silently. Most people were talking to a buddy quietly. I didn’t feel free to walk around because it was so cramped, and because the mood clearly said, “Don’t bother anyone.” I took what pictures I could around the door where the light was best. It was pretty dark in there and I didn’t want to bother anyone with my flash.

The first picture I’m sending is of the doors. You can see that people are pressed up against the glass. It really was that crowded in there. If you look on the left side of the doors you’ll see a reflection of a woman in a bluish top and black pants. That’s Celene, a Twilight Mom. She was very nice and made us gringas feel right at home. She was waiting for a friend and fellow Twilight Mom to arrive. I didn’t get the friend’s name but when she arrived she told us her best hope for Seth was in the emergency room. I hope he’s OK!

I spy a Twilight Mom!

I spy a Twilight Mom!

 

The next picture is of the first person I saw come out of the building. I knew her first as #28, as that’s the number I saw on her card. She’s the one in blue on the right. She snuck into the next picture too. I was just trying to get a shot of the guy walking in the door, but when I looked at the pic #28 had snuck in there. Sorry this one’s a little blurry.

Emily Hopeful?

Emily Hopeful?

 

Waiting in line

Waiting in line

 

The fourth picture is a random crowd shot, mostly of the boy’s side. I think it really shows how serious everyone was, and these boys are a pretty good representation of the boys I saw.

Quileute boys?

Quileute boys?

 

Number five was a really cute boy that was all the way across the lobby from me. I tried to get a better picture of him for you but the guy he’s talking to kept getting in the way. I think you can tell even in this blurry shot that he had an amazing smile.

Quileute Cutie

Quileute Cutie

 

 Number six is a shot of random girls. They are pretty representative of the girls that I saw.

Random Girls

Random Girls

 

Number seven is a shot of the lobby I was able to get when the crowd momentarily parted.

Phoenix Indian Center lobby

Phoenix Indian Center lobby

 

 Number eight, and the final pic I have to share, brings it full circle. I suddenly realized that #28 was just in front of me, so I tapped her on the shoulder. Let me tell you, she’s more adorable in person. She nervously and very politely excused herself, thinking she was in my way. I told her I just wanted to ask her a few questions. She had gotten the information ahead of time, but the lines they were reading were also on the casting card. She very graciously allowed me to take her picture with her casting card. I told her it was for our site, so if you’re reading this, Leandra Velasquez, “Hi! My friends and I hope you nailed it and we get to see you on the big screen in November!”

Emily Hopeful?

Emily Hopeful?

 
If you can’t read the audition piece on the card, here’s what it says. 

Dialogue

Dialogue

 
Interesting choice, huh?
 
♥Christa

PS Edit 06Apr09 – Thanks to Letters to Twilight for helping me protect Leandra’s personal information. Sorry it took me so long to get around to posting pics 8 and 8.5, and giving you the credit you deserve.